Skip to content ↓

Our Trust of Schools

Applied General Qualifications

What are Applied Qualifications?

Applied General Qualifications are also known as BTEC’s or Cambridge Technical awards.

These qualifications have been recognised by many universities as fulfilling entry requirements to a range of courses. These can be studied either on their own or alongside other Level 3 qualifications.

Who are they for?

Applied General Qualifications (BTECS and CTECS) are for students wishing to undertake study in a specific area.

What Applied General qualifications are available?

Applied General qualifications include BTECs and OCR Cambridge Technical qualifications as well as a range of other vocational courses.

Applied General Qualifications are available in a variety of areas, such as:

  • Performing Arts
  • Applied Science
  • Health and Social Care
  • Sport Single, Double and Triple
  • Engineering
  • Business
  • Creative Media
  • ICT
  • Music

What are the entry requirements for Applied General qualifications?

Please see the subject specific entry requirements, but these are usually targeted at students achieving grade 5 and above at GCSE, although some subjects consider grade 4.